Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The doctor called
my results were in
dancing between shadows
I needed to drive in
the waiting room empty
his face soon appeared
bereft of a smile
opening the results
eye to eye contact
all but disappeared

Now turning toward me
the moment I had feared
your x-ray was clear
though we found something else
sliding through my veins
blood draining from thyself
pale
ghostlike
sinking toward the floor
avoiding patients within the car park
clutching at the door

Dropping my keys
the distant thunder roared
my life flashed before me
as the rain began to pour
windscreen wipers active
entering my drive
hugging my sweet son
I needed to stay alive

Empty shoes sat quietly
aside our weathered mat
as we made our passage in
his kiss
his hug
his greeting
crying beneath my skin
our love
my loss
the meeting
ae4aa140be7fb2aeeb0888dd3b5638a6