Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I enjoyed the time spent walking
near the meter of your breath
across the gathered leaves
within our autumn trees

I asked you for forgiveness
for the impatience I displayed
for ignoring his brilliant autism
neglecting his distant gaze

You needed me to love him
to recognize him in the least
participation would have been good
a minimalistic brief

yet as usual I was aloof
adrift on another connect
aligned with my own thoughts
more conceit than neglect

Though as time drifted further out
I entered through his gate
warming to his presence
from morning time till late

Then as your smile caressed me
as his touch met mine
I bathed in the evening sunset
I watched the stars align

His autism then soon left me
I stood standing in his wake
with the meter of his breath
still upon me
I’d learnt to give
not take

b5cdb5c9d81f1ed7ff9785ffd315555d