Tags

, , , , ,

Three cockatoos flew
in the corner of my tree
looking ever outward
beyond you toward me
were they simply smiling
or laughing at our plight
either way our sun set
another restless night

Bereft of incoming air
wrestling into sleep
tossing and turning aimlessly
adrift inside my night
wandering further out
in search of an anchor or buoy
listening aside our veranda
to our youngest with a toy
talking with himself
silence meeting joy

Where were you I thought
whilst listening to our boy
soon you would be with me
legs abreast in flight
straddling my inner love
breasts afloat then aloft
above my inner reach
ankles working in sync
beneath your outstretched breach

Then all at once it hit me
that feeling of you and I
again joined at the hip
I found my reason why

 

 

 

tumblr_luyhhiO0TX1r3yqioo1_500